Solved

Distinguishing events when target text is not avaliable

Badge +1

Hi all,

I tried having a look through the community feed, but didn’t see exactly this issue. I tried things that looked close and it didn’t solve my problem.

First thing is to say that I am not that technical, so please explain anything to me like you would a child.

There are times where I’m tagging something and it picks up the target text and labels the event properly like the below, no issues:

However, I have two situations that I need to find a solution for. Ideally this would be me solving it within Heap without involving the devs, but if that’s what needs to be done, it would be useful to know that too…

1. If I try to create a target text where it can’t find one, it doesn’t work and each time there’s a click on that link, it will act like it’s something I have not labeled before. For example this, where I’d then go on to add in a target text:
    • To solve this, I tried using F12 and having a look at the HTML and there doesn’t look like there are any differences between the two, which may be the problem. I’m just wondering if there’s a way around this.

2. Similarly, Heap is picking up unique clicks as the same event, so I end-up tagging something two or more times as it doesn’t distinguish between actions. To give you an example, it thinks clicking on any of these icons is the same action/event and won’t make the distiniction. 

icon

Best answer by Jonas-Heap 6 June 2023, 22:54

View original

10 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +3

Hi @Courtney_2811. Would you mind sharing a screenshot of the code itself after you inspect the elements that you show in the last screenshot? This will help us to understand if there is an alternative selector that you can use OR if you may need to ask your developers to alter the code slightly so that Heap will work.