Solved

Do I need to recreate common events across my page? E.g. Add to cart event on each product display page vs on the homepage.

• 2 July 2023
  • 3 replies

Badge +1

Hello I am a product manager that inherited Heap as the data analytics platform. We are a medium sized ecommerce site that sells on Shopify. We have multiple product categories and multiple products within each category.

I want to measure how many users add to cart on the product display page for Category A vs Category B. I know I can manually create a global add to cart and filter by the path of each product per category, but we have a catalog of over 500 products which would take forever. Is there a better way to do this? Or by creating the event with the visual labeler once, does it account for the category we have?

Thanks

icon

Best answer by Upasna 5 July 2023, 11:37

View original

3 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge

Hello!

Before answering your question I just want to understand that  do product description page have any kind of unique attribute or element in the URL which  indicates the category. This could be a query parameter, hash value, or any other distinct identifier that differentiates products belonging to different categories.

Eg: www.example.com/products/categoryA/product123

www.example.com/products/categoryB/product124

Thanks

Badge +1

Unfortunately we have a unorganized catalog. Our category collections pages have different paths then the PDP of each product within a category. For example if you click into a category that shows the collection of products in that category you will have:

1. /collections/categoryA
  2. /collections/categoryB
  3. /collections/categoryC

If you then click into a product display page for each category you will have the path:

1. /products/product-1
  2. /products/product-2
  3. /products/products-3