New to Heap: Seeking Advice on API Usage

• 13 July 2023
  • 1 reply

Badge

Hello Heap Community,

I'm new to Heap and I'm trying to understand the best ways to use it. I've read about Heap's autocapture feature, but I've also seen that there are APIs available for things like custom events, dynamic user information, user identity, and custom event properties.

As I'm planning my implementation, I'm curious to hear about your experiences:

1. Custom Events: Have you found it necessary to manually send custom events via the Track API? Could you share examples of the types of events you typically track?

2. Dynamic User Information: How often do you track dynamic user information, such as login status or changes in user behavior? Do you use the addEventProperties API for this purpose?

3. User Identity: How do you manage user identity in Heap? Do you use the Identify API to tie together user behavior across platforms, browsers, and devices?

4. Custom Event Properties: Do you define custom event properties to enrich your dataset? If so, what types of properties do you typically define?

5. API Integration: How integral are APIs in your usage of Heap? Could you achieve your goals using Heap without APIs?

6. Data Analysis: Could you share examples of insights you've gained specifically through API-enriched data?

I appreciate any insights you can provide!

1 reply

Userlevel 1
Badge

Hi @analytics_noob_96, thanks for submitting these questions! Let me work through answering them one by one:

1. Custom Events: Have you found it necessary to manually send custom events via the Track API? Could you share examples of the types of events you typically track?

This Help Center document covers the most Common Use Cases for Custom Events, both Client-side and Server-side.

2. Dynamic User Information: How often do you track dynamic user information, such as login status or changes in user behavior? Do you use the addEventProperties API for this purpose?